Image Businesswoman Awards 2015

On Monday evening, the 2nd of November, the high-flying females of Irish business gathered at the DoubleTree Hilton Hotel for the annual IMAGE Businesswoman of the Year Award for 2015. The greatly anticipated awards champion trailblazing businesswomen’s contribution to Ireland’s economy and their vital role within the Irish business community at home and abroad.

Celebrating its ninth year, IMAGE publications announced the winners of the ten elusive categories that included Creative Business Woman of the Year, Digital Business Woman of the year and of course, the Overall 2015 IMAGE Businesswoman of the Year.

The award ceremony also honoured Mary Finan, the former Chair of the RTÉ Authority and one of the founding partners at Wilson Hartnell Public Relations, with the Lifetime Achievement Award of 2015. Mary has spent her celebrated and extensive career working in communications. As well as chairing the RTÉ Authority, she co-founded Wilson Hartnell Public Relations, Ogilvy’s Irish public relations operation, and subsequently served as its chairman from 2003 to 2007. She was awarded an honorary Doctor of Law Degree by the National University of Ireland in 2011, and in 2012 Mary returned to Harvard to complete the Advanced Leadership Fellowship Programme.


The full list of winners included:


Overall 2015 IMAGE Businesswoman of the Year:

Anne Heraty, CEO, Cpl Resources plc


Anne Heraty is CEO of Cpl Resources plc, a recognised leader in workforce solutions, specialist recruitment, managed services and outsourcing. With an annual turnover in excess of €390 million, the company has over 650 permanent employees. In any one week Cpl also has circa 10,000 temp/contract staff under management in customer sites. Her company has expanded through both strong organic growth and strategic acquisitions. Anne has won numerous awards, and her company was ranked as “best place to work 2015” in the large organisation category. She is the deputy president of IBEC and the Chair of the EY Entrepreneur of the Year Awards in Ireland.


The nine category winners are:


Entrepreneur of the Year:

Sara Mitchell, co-owner, Poulet Bonne Femme


Management Professional Businesswoman of the Year:

Fiona Flannery, CEO, DEPFA Bank plc


Start-up of the Year:

Bernadette Kinsella, CEO,


Creative Businesswoman of the Year:

Avril Stanley, CEO, festival director and creative director, Body & Soul


Social Entrepreneurship:

Michelle O’Donnell Keating & Niamh Gallagher, co-founders, Women for Election


Young Businesswoman of the Year:

Chupi Sweetman-Durney, creative director, Chupi


Digital Businesswoman of the Year:

Sandra McKenna, co-founder, Sheology Digital


Overseas Businesswoman of the Year Award:

Dr Jeanne Bolger, vice president of investment ventures, Johnson & Johnson.


CEO Businesswoman of the Year Award:

Anna Malmhake, CEO, Irish Distillers Pernod Ricard